Day 6: Taking responsibility and moving your life forward

Dear Reader,

Today was another good day 🙂

And to celebrate it, I’d like to share some words of wisdom I heard on Youtube and which were said by someone I deeply respect, admire, and really love as “an auntie” even though we never met: Oprah Winfrey.

Don’t judge me! I know it may sound a little cliché, so many people say they are inspired by her. But she really is a wise and loving woman so why wouldn’t we be? 😉

Here is what she had to say in a video about taking responsibility for your life: “… you are responsible for your life. And if you’re sitting around waiting on somebody to save you, to fix you, to even help you, you are wasting your time. Because only you have the power to take responsibility to move your life forward. And the sooner you get that, the sooner your life gets into gear… It does not matter where you come from… it doesn’t matter what your mama did… what matters is your willingness to see this moment for what it is, accept it, forgive the past, take responsibility, and move forward.”

Why do I love that small speech she gave on Youtube?

Because, as I told you I had some anger issues. Not the kind of anger which makes you fight with people, but the kind which burns you from the inside. And, of course, people and life were always responsible for the bad things happening in my life so I was angry at them. I also was angry at those people who always get everything more easily, thanks to their parents, or their money, etc. You get the idea…

Since then, I’ve learned that no matter how much I’ll complain about it, I wasn’t born in the best environment, and nobody’s going to change that. But what can be changed, what I can change, is my future.

So I try as much as I can to take all that negative energy and to transform it in studying and earning money in order to have a better future, and if possible to take care of the people I love who were not able to do so.

OK, I have to admit that it is a big part of the reason I am going through a burnout. That and the fact that I invest a little bit too much in my job.

I had totally forgotten how to enjoy the present and to make things just because they were making me happy. And as paradoxical as it may sounds, I totally stopped taking care of myself, me the advocate of healthy food.

But I’ve learned my lesson and I am trying to find the right work-life balance.

I’m also trying to take things a little less personally.

Finally, even though I still don’t know my exact purpose in life, I start having clues about it which is very important to me. I’m also trying to do more things which make me feel happy, which includes taking more walks with my dog, which makes him happy, which makes me, even more, happier lol

Are you ready to take responsibility of you life too?

If so, please share your first step in the comments section.

Talk to you tomorrow 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

